DMV = Torture

July 29, 2008 at 6:27 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

I’m off Mondays, so I decided to go get my car tags and license switched back to Texas. A little late, I know.

I woke up bright and early, went to the records building in Downtown Dallas, got my plates and then went to the DMV.

When I get there…it’s rock concert packed. Not like a “Metallica” rock concert, more like a “James Taylor” rock concert. I snapped a picture of all the people waiting…in ONE of the TWO packed rooms:

 I finally make my way up to the counter to get my license. I present the guy: my current valid Oklahoma license, my proof of insurance, my vehicle inspection and registration, show him my plates and present a US passport….and it wasn’t enough to get a drivers license. Needless to say, I was angry. Why wasn’t I getting a license? I was playing by the rules! What did I forget? My social security card.

With all the I-D theft stories I’ve done,  I have my social security card locked up in a little box, far from civilization. And this guy at the counter wanted it? My passport wasn’t enough?

Well, my girlfriend brought all her stuff, and at 930am, was handed this little stub:

The second line from the bottom says :Waiting Time: 2:29 hrs.

WHAT! It’s 930am! How many people are working? One?

We waited 10 minutes and only 1 name was called. At that pace, they’ll be calling her number sometime in September.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My friend one reason we need a smaller government is because they are intrinsically in-efficient. Why? because it is very difficult to create accountability. Second, government is not able to attract best talent. And third we most of the time accept their inefficiency as a necessary evil.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

