Uninvited Guests

July 9, 2008 at 10:21 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

After my trip home to San Antonio, I came home with bug bites.

After complaining of the bites, I was told to buy a “skeeter stick”.  A “what” you ask? A “skeeter stick”. When I first heard that, I figured it was some ridiculous old time remedy involving dirt, ground up roots and manure. And it would probably work like gangbusters, but smell like death.

Instead, I went to the store and bought some of this to stop the itching.

Upon further inspection (I am a reporter, remember) I saw that it helps with “no-see-ums”. 

I’m not a bug doctor, but I’m pretty sure “no-see-ums” is not a scientific name. Why not use the term “you can’t see thems” or “invisible bugs”? Who makes up these names?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yes OV, they are real.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/No-see-ums


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

