Roadtrip!

July 7, 2008 at 10:13 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

For the Fourth of July holiday, I went on a little “staycation” to San Antonio, my hometown.

I took 35 south to get there. I’ve made the trip dozens of times back when I was in college. And…I always made a stop just north of Waco in West, Texas. It’s not a big town, but if you’re ever going that way, stop here:

The Czech Stopis the one of those little places that makes Texas so unique. Why? The bakery. Check out the breakfast kolache:

(For the record, those aren’t my hands)

The kolaches are delicious, made fresh and served warm. You can order them in dozens of flavors, with sausage and cheese, jalapeno and cheese or even with cream cheese. It’s not exactly a place to stick to your diet, but it’s worth a stop.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I know that little place in West, Texas very well! I stop there or in Waco on my many numerous trips to UT Austin, my alma mater! And by the way, I’m glad you clarified the hands in that photo as not being yours, because I was going to say, those hands don’t seem to match you! 😉

  2. They serve pretty good “fast food” kolaches there, but if you want the real thing, go east toward downtown West about a mile, across the RR tracks, and on your left is an authentic czech bakery with the REAL kolaches! You’ll never stop on the service road again!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

