Do you know what I could do with that money?

July 1, 2008 at 6:36 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I live on the 4th floor, in a two bedroom place, three fans, and I don’t keep it cold in my place. Maybe at 77 degrees. Maybe 76 degrees. Not Celsius. I use high efficiency lights, put fans on when I leave and raise the AC to 79 before walking out.

I got my electric bill….and I almost did a face plant when I saw it:

The company gives you a little chart to show your usage. This really doesn’t help ease the pain. By my math, the higher the bar, the more money is coming out of my wallet.  Simple.

The cost to chill my place is still a pretty penny.

For 241 dollars, I could buy a pair of Rangers/Yankees tickets in the best available section ($79 dollar seats), and have enough to buy 8 tickets in the nosebleeds and give them to anyone I wanted.

I could have a really crazy night out on the town, without the lewdness (my boss is reading).

Or…I could just shut up and pay it…and have a place at 77 degrees.

Anyone got any tips on how to lower the electric bill? Please, write in.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Popsicles. Have you considered popsicles? You can get a pack of 100, variety-style that is (red, orange, purple, blue, green), and it’s like $3.78. Do you have any idea what the street value of that is in Brooklyn? It’s like frozen crack.

    And these magical popsicles are wrapped in plastic so the oil companies are happy and people are employed and so people can leave their apartments and go to work leaving their Air Conditioning on. and write a blog with chilled, dainty finger tips.

    Or they could just turn off the F’ing AC and take a sponge bath when they get home…

  2. Omar,

    Do your windows face west/east? I know when I lived on the 2nd floor of an apt, my windows faced east/west – directly into the sun – and my electricity bill was as high as yours during the summer months! I even turned off the AC during the day and left the blinds shut until I got home. But with the direct hit of sunlight, it causes the AC to run more in order to cool the place down.

  3. Actually, they do! But I have blinds and curtains. I’m going to get thicker curtains to keep the sun out. I will turn this place into the Batcave to keep it cool.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

